Kadida Kenner to speak at Bloomsburg University on judicial fairness

For Immediate Release                                                                                                                                                 

Date: February 25, 2020                                                                                                                                                      Contact Tom McGuire, Director of Communications                                                                                   

Written by: Shana Wetzel, Student Intern

Kadida Kenner to speak at Bloomsburg University on judicial fairness

BLOOMSBURG---Bloomsburg University of Pennsylvania will host activist Kadida Kenner speaking on “Women’s Rights and Empowerment: Why Courts Matter” on Monday, March 2, at 6 p.m. in the McCormick Center for Human Services, room 1303. The event, sponsored by BU’s Women’s Resource Center, is free and open to the public.

A West Chester native, Kenner was most recently a writer, producer, and director for college sports television programming in Charlotte, N.C. Energized by the 2016 elections, she returned to campaign work as a field and digital organizer for the North Carolina Democratic Party’s coordinated campaign. Following the elections, Kenner moved back to Pennsylvania while working as the director of campaigns for the Pennsylvania Budget and Policy Center, including The We The People – PA campaign and the Why Courts Matter – PA campaign.

The Why The Courts Matter is a non-partisan, non-profit organization and a coalition of more than 40 organizational advocates working to ensure federal courts have diverse, independent, well-qualified, mainstream jurists dedicated to fairness and impartiality and preserving the core constitutional values of liberty and equality and justice for all.

Bloomsburg University is one of 14 universities in Pennsylvania’s State System of Higher Education. The university serves approximately 8,200 students, offering comprehensive programs of study in five distinct colleges: College of Education, Zeigler College of Business, College of Liberal Arts, College of Science and Technology, and new Honors College.