Bloomsburg University to host the British National Debate team in November

For Immediate Release

Date: Oct. 25, 2019

Contact: Tom McGuire, Director of Communications

Bloomsburg University to host the British National Debate team in November

BLOOMSBURG— The British National Debate team will visit Bloomsburg University of Pennsylvania on Tuesday and Wednesday, Nov. 12-13.

Sponsored by the Frederick Douglass Institute for Academic Excellence, the team of Niamh Thompson and Dan Scanio will give a public debate on Tuesday, Nov. 12, at 7 p.m. in Warren Student Services Center, room 004. They will provide an international perspective on controversial issues ranging from the impeachment of President Trump and the problem of police brutality to the continued relevance of the British Monarchy debating both sides of these issues.

The team will also make classroom visits, present at the BU High School Diversity Conference on Nov. 13, and collaborate with the Frederick Douglass Debate Society and the BU Forensics Team.

Thompson is a graduate of Medicine from The University of Glasgow in Scotland and is a Junior Doctor currently working in emergency medicine in Glasgow, Scotland. She qualified in 2017 and has a specialist interest in communication in acute medicine, global health, and communication skills in healthcare, which she teaches to doctors and nurses.

Scanio, a philosophy graduate from Oxford Brookes University, has a master’s in corporate law from Durham University and bar professional training courses from The University of Law. He is an experienced debater, having competed in university, national, and international competitions. He was the national champion of the Insurance Law Moot 2016.

The event is part of a national tour sponsored by the National Communication Association, the Committee on International Discussion and Debate, and the European Speaking Union.

Bloomsburg University is one of 14 universities in Pennsylvania’s State System of Higher Education. The university serves approximately 8,700 students, offering comprehensive programs of study in five distinct colleges: College of Education, Zeigler College of Business, College of Liberal Arts, College of Science and Technology, and new Honors College.