Bloomsburg University to host John Jay College Faculty Member on Immigration in Hazleton

For Immediate Release

Date: Oct. 8, 2019

Contact: Tom McGuire, Director of Media Relations

Bloomsburg University to host John Jay College Faculty Member on Immigration in Hazleton

BLOOMSBURG— Bloomsburg University of Pennsylvania presents Jamie Longazel ’05 for a lecture on Tuesday, Oct. 15, at 7 p.m., in the Warren Student Services Building, room 004. Longazel will speak on his book titled “Undocumented Fears: Immigration and the Politics of Divide and Conquer in Hazleton, Pa.”

Longazel is an associate professor of criminal justice at John Jay College of Criminal Justice, where he primarily teaches courses in the Law and Society major. His book won the North Central Sociological Association’s 2017 Scholarly Achievement Award. He is also the co-author (with Benjamin Fleury-Steiner) of “The Pains of Mass Imprisonment.” His work has appeared in academic journals across several disciplines, including Law & Society Review, Law & Social Inquiry, Punishment & Society, and Theoretical Criminology. As a scholar-activist, Longazel is the co-founder of Anthracite Unite, a collective working on racial and economic justice, and a member of The Social Anatomy of a Deportation Regime research working group.

Longazel earned his Ph.D. in sociology from the University of Delaware in 2011 after completing a Law and Social Science Doctoral Fellowship at the American Bar Foundation. From 2011-2017, he was an assistant professor of sociology at the University of Dayton. He is also affiliated with the International Migration Studies program at the Graduate Center and has taught in John Jay's Prison-to-College Pipeline program. Longazel's research examines issues of race and political economy, typically within the context of immigration. 

Bloomsburg University is one of 14 universities in Pennsylvania’s State System of Higher Education. The university serves approximately 8,700 students, offering comprehensive programs of study in five distinct colleges: College of Education, Zeigler College of Business, College of Liberal Arts, College of Science and Technology, and new Honors College.