President Soltz receives higher education award

BLOOMSBURG—David L. Soltz, president of Bloomsburg University, was honored with the Pennsylvania Black Conference on Higher Education (PBCOHE) Presidents’ Award on Friday, Feb. 24 in Pittsburgh.

The conference, first convened in 1971, was organized by Pennsylvania Speaker of the House Rep. K. Leroy Irvis, his aide Mary Davis Baltimore, and black educators from across the commonwealth.

Soltz was recognized for his policies and actions that demonstrate commitment and dedication to enhancing the mission of the PBCOHE.

Under Soltz’s leadership, the university increased enrollment of under-represented minority students from 10 percent to more than 17 percent. In addition, there has been an increase in the number of administrators, faculty, and staff of color hired and retained at BU during his tenure. He supported student participation in the PBCOHE Student Leadership Development Institute as well as faculty and staff participation in the Educational Management and Leadership Institute.

Soltz will retire from Bloomsburg University in June 2017, after nine and a half years. As president, he has served on the board of directors of the American Association of State College and Universities (AASCU) and as vice chair of AASCU Policies and Purposes Committee; led accreditation site team visits for the Middle States Commission on Higher Education; served as chair of the Pennsylvania State Athletic Conference; and was the State System of Higher Education presidential representative in the collective bargaining negotiations with the Association for Pennsylvania State College and University Faculties (APSCUF).

Soltz earned a bachelor's degree in zoology from the University of California, Berkeley, and a doctoral degree in biology from the University of California, Los Angeles.

Bloomsburg University is one of 14 universities in Pennsylvania’s State System of Higher Education. The university serves approximately 9,600 students, offering comprehensive programs of study in the colleges of Education, Business, Liberal Arts and Science and Technology.