Independent film series premieres

For Immediate Release:  Sept. 6, 2016

BLOOMSBURG— Following the devastation of genocide, “Sweet Dreams” documents the journey of a group of Rwandan women that create the country’s first all-female drumming group and open the country’s first ice cream shop.

“Sweet Dreams” is the first of six films to debut in Bloomsburg University of Pennsylvania’s Celebrity Artist Series new independent film series for the 2016-2017 season, “Mostly Mondays @ the Movies.” The film will be screened Monday, Sept. 12, at 7 p.m. in Carver Hall, Kenneth S. Gross Auditorium.

The film series, a new addition to the Celebrity Artist Series, will bring quality films, directors and cinematographers to Bloomsburg. Each film will be accompanied by an established award-winning professional involved in the making of the film. The topics of these films range from health, health care, social awareness and women’s empowerment to murder, nature and earth. 

After the film, director Rob Fruchtman will discuss the process of creating this film. 

Tickets are $4 at the door or $3.50 in advance with admission to the pre- or post-film discussion. Tickets can be purchased at the Haas Center box office or by calling at 570-389-4409.

Partnering with On Screen/In Person, a Mid-Atlantic States independent film festival, the Celebrity Artist Series will be showing six independent films accompanied by one professional involved in the film on Mondays or Wednesdays.

The schedule for the films, all screened in Carver Hall, Kenneth S. Gross Auditorium, is:

  • “You Belong to Me, Sex, Race and Murder in the South” Oct. 26, 7 p.m.
  • “Love Thy Nature” Nov. 7, 7 p.m.
  • “Hilleman – A Perilous Quest to Save the World’s Children” Feb. 6, 2017, 7 p.m.
  • “Real Boy” March 8, 2017, 7 p.m.
  • “States of Grace” April 3, 2017, 7 p.m.

Bloomsburg University is one of 14 universities in Pennsylvania’s State System of Higher Education. The university serves approximately 10,000 students, offering comprehensive programs of study in the colleges of Education, Business, Liberal Arts and Science and Technology.