11 receive emeritus status

For Immediate Release: Sept. 17, 2015

A seemingly record number of honorees were granted emeritus status Wednesday, Sept. 16, at the quarterly meeting of Bloomsburg University’s Council of Trustees.

Honorees and their years of service are:

  • Faculty emeritus: Mark Jelinek, music, theatre and dance, 29 years, and Lawrence Kleiman, management, 15 years
  • Administrator emeritus: Jean Downing, SOLVE, 20 years, and Jonathan Lincoln, College of Science and Technology and provost’s office, 10 years
  • Manager emeritus: John Bieryla, financial aid, 33 years, and James Christy, admissions, nearly 30 years
  • Non-instructional emeritus: Susan Hayes, accounts payable, 31 years, and Sandy Newsome, admissions, nearly 25 years

Emeriti who were unable to attend the meeting are Jeannette Keith, history; Jim Hollister, external relations; and Sherri Valencik, provost’s office.
The Trustees approved a resolution for demolition of the University Store Building to make way for a new residence hall, scheduled to open in fall 2017. Site work is scheduled to begin in March 2016, with construction to start the next month. The new facility will feature six floors of residence space, mail services, University Store and two dining venues.

They also agreed to the capital project request, which recommends funding priority. Included are the McCormick Center renovation, anticipated for funding in 2018-19, and relocation of the facilities maintenance building, with a target date of 2024-25.

Joseph Hazzard, assistant professor of exercise science, offered a brief presentation on BU’s new Institute for Concussion Research and Service.

The following presentations were made at the preceding Committee of the Whole meeting:

  • Budget, John Loonan, vice president for administration and finance
  • Summer College and fall enrollment, Tom Fletcher, vice president for strategic enrollment management
  • Fall housing, Dione Somerville, vice president for student affairs
  • University Advancement, Erik Evans, vice president for university advancement

Trustees’ Committee of the Whole and quarterly meetings are open to the public.