Students awarded Smith Scholarships

For Immediate Release:  July 28, 2014

Smith Scholarships

BLOOMSBURG — Thirty-seven students from four area high schools have been awarded scholarships from the Fred G. Smith Golden Rule Trust Fund to attend Bloomsburg University of Pennsylvania in the 2014-2015 academic year. The list of recipients of the $45,350 in scholarships was released by John Bieryla, the university’s director of financial aid.

Smith, who owned and managed Nesbitt’s Cut Rate Drug Store in Mount Carmel, bequeathed $3 million for scholarships to the university in 1985. A resident of Shenandoah, his intention was to help residents of his hometown and surrounding communities attend college. The scholarships have been awarded over the past 16 years to nearly 1,000 area students. The fund is administered by Union National Bank of Mount Carmel.

Established in memory of his late wife, Marion, the scholarship fund benefits Bloomsburg University students who are residents of Ashland, Mount Carmel or Shenandoah boroughs, or Mount Carmel Township. Students must also attend one of four high schools: Mount Carmel, North Schuylkill, Our Lady of Lourdes and Shenandoah Area.

A majority of awards are renewals, with seven students attending Bloomsburg for the first time. Individual awards range from $750 to $1,750. Recipients are:

Mount Carmel High School – Ranotta Ahrensfield, Robert Beierschmitt, Jordan Bettleyon, Alyssa Butkiewicz, Jocelyn Darrup, Cody Dietz, Christopher Delbo, Stephanie Evans, Kathryn Fest, Bryce Fiamoncini, Abbi Grabowski, Callie Hummel, Justin Mackenzie, Megan Minnig, Cassandra Niglio, Bryson Purcell, Andrew Sickora and Bridget Wagner, all of Mount Carmel; Brittany Bartol, Brooke Bartol, Kristen Duceman, Kirsten Sinopoli, Brandon Toter and Rachel Toter, all of Kulpmont; and Cassandra Mace and Brock Susnoskie, both of Atlas.

Shenandoah Valley High School – Blaise Breslosky, William Brown, Eileen Davidson, Abigale Pribish, Curtis Rooney, Evan Rooney and John Szczyglak, all of Shenandoah.

North Schuylkill High School – Dylan Hughes, Robyn Orth and Maura Pogirski, all of Ashland.

Our Lady of Lourdes Regional High School – Aisha Bucanelli of Kulpmont.

Bloomsburg University is one of 14 universities in the Pennsylvania State System of Higher Education. The university, celebrating 175 years of excellence in 2014, serves approximately 10,000 students, offering comprehensive programs of study in the colleges of Education, Business, Liberal Arts and Science and Technology.