BU Players present ‘12 Angry Jurors’

For immediate release: Nov. 2, 2012

BLOOMSBURG — What happens when a diverse group of strangers is brought together to decide the fate of an inner-city teen on trial for the murder of his abusive father? The Bloomsburg University Players’ latest production, “12 Angry Jurors,” looks at prejudices, fears and cultural biases against the backdrop of the American judicial system as jurors decide the teen’s fate.

BU Players will perform the drama, an adaptation of “12 Angry Men” by Reginald Rose, Wednesday through Saturday, Nov. 7 to 10, at 7:30 p.m. and Sunday, Nov. 11, at 3 p.m. in Alvina Krause Theatre, 226 Center St., Bloomsburg. Tickets are $6 for adults, $4 for seniors and non-BU students; and free for BU students.

Members of the cast are: Phil Czekner, Harleysville; Kayla Sabol, Minersville; Lauren Shover, Camp Hill; Natasha Willis, Bensalem; Derek Colón, Budd Lake, N.J.; Samantha Cole, Philadelphia; Courtney Costello, Pittston; Casey Gerhart, Telford; Gabriella Russo, Effort; Jaryn Wilcox, Canton; Elizabeth Potter, Danville; Kellyanne Klause, Feasterville; Donovan Krebs, Shamokin; and Kelly Oberlin, Mifflinburg.

Director David Miller, assistant professor of theatre, called the play “a cage match of justice.”
“College students … are exposed to many opinions, biases and personalities in their search for the ‘truth’ and that’s exactly what this play is about,” he said. “There are 12 jurors who, for 90 minutes, are debating their version of the truth.”

In addition to Miller, members of the production design team are: Ethan Krupp, scenic design and technical director; Anthony Roslevich, lighting design; Chris Ulloth, sound design; Rebecca Kestel, stage manager; and Karen Anselm and Sydney Hare, costuming.

Bloomsburg University is one of 14 universities in the Pennsylvania State System of Higher Education. BU serves approximately 10,000 students, offering comprehensive programs of study in the colleges of Education, Business, Liberal Arts and Science and Technology.