New Trustees join BU council

For immediate release: Feb. 29, 2012

BLOOMSBURG — Two new members were welcomed to Bloomsburg University's Council of Trustees at the quarterly meeting, Wednesday, Feb. 29. The addition of Charles E. Schlegel Jr. ’60, of Sunbury, and Kenneth Stolarick ’77, of Pine Grove, brings the council to its full complement for the first time in two years.

Charles E. Schlegel Jr. Schlegel taught social studies for 35 years in the Shikellamy School District, where he was Student Council adviser, athletic director and football and basketball coach. He has served on a number of commissions, boards and authorities, including Sunbury City Council, Sunbury Revitalization Incorporated and Sunbury Municipal Authority, and was honored by the Episcopal Diocese of Central Pennsylvania with the Spirit of the Diocese Award and the Shell Award.

His three children are BU graduates: businessman Charles Schlegel III ’83, Shikellamy teacher Pamela Schlegel Lehman ’84 and State Rep. Lynda Schlegel-Culver ’95. Schlegel fills the unexpired term of Marie Conley Lammando ’94.

Kenneth Stolarick Stolarick is vice president of commercial banking for M&T Bank, Pottsville. He serves as board vice president of Schuylkill Community Action and board treasurer of Schuylkill YMCA and Northeast Pennsylvania Manufacturers and Employers Association.

He also is a board member of Schuylkill Economic Development Corp. and Pine Grove Area Education Foundation and chair of St. Peter’s Lutheran Church Endowment Fund. He received the 2011 Milt Sorin Volunteer of the Year Award from the Schuylkill YMCA. Stolarick fills the unexpired term of Steven Barth.

Among the first votes cast by Schlegel and Stolarick was approval of room and board fees for 2012-13. As approved, the average overall room and board fee for a new freshman will increase by $139 — a room rate increase of 3 percent and board rate increase by 1.75 percent, with an additional $50 in flex dollars.

Trustees also approved the fee schedule for 2012-13 with only one fee increase: the transportation fee will increase from $35 to $50 per semester for 2012-13.

Emeritus Honorees Also during the meeting, Trustees:

  • Honored three retirees with emeritus status: Mainuddin Afza, department of management, faculty emeritus; Robert Hakim, purchasing, manager emeritus; and Linda Hill, University Advancement, non-instructional emeritus.
  • Accepted the evaluation of BU President David Soltz and will recommend the Pennsylvania State System of Higher Education Board of Governors extend his contract.
  • Approved the capital project request which places Waller Administration Building’s renovation and addition as BU’s top priority for state funding, as available.
  • Heard a presentation by James Brown, dean of the College of Liberal Arts, and Randall Presswood, director of performing arts facilities and programs, on arts initiatives, including the Center for Visual and Performing Arts and the Celebrity Artist Series. Mass communications major Janine Liesner, of Richboro, performed a musical number she originally presented at A Taste of the Arts held at the downtown Moose Exchange in early February.
  • Named Trustees Ramona Alley, LaRoy Davis and Dr. Joseph Mowad to the nominating committee.

Bloomsburg University is one of 14 universities in the Pennsylvania State System of Higher Education. BU serves approximately 10,000 students, offering comprehensive programs of study in the colleges of Education, Business, Liberal Arts and Science and Technology.