BU Players perform in Kennedy Center festival

 For Immediate Release: Jan. 12, 2012

BLOOMSBURG — Bloomsburg University's theater troupe, the BU Players, is performing “Proof” at the Kennedy Center American College Theatre Festival Region II Festival.

The festival, taking place this week at Indiana University of Pennsylvania, features productions from university theatre groups in the mid-Atlantic region, including Delaware, Maryland, New Jersey, Ohio, Washington, D.C., West Virginia and parts of New York and Virginia.

The play, written by David Auburn, was reviewed by two festival respondents during its original campus run in September 2011 and considered by a panel of theatre professionals from throughout the region. This is the second year in a row BU Players were invited to present a main stage performance in the festival.

Directed by BU senior Kaitlyn Ide of Nescopeck, “Proof” is one of eight productions invited from about 50 entries and is only the fourth student-directed production to be invited to the festival since 2006. BU Players’ production of “Proof” is the culmination of the university’s new intensive summer theatre experience.

Students involved in the production and their hometowns are: Courtney Costello and Adam Wilson, both of Pittston; Megan Combs, Nescopeck; Philip Czekner, Harleysville; Destiny Deater, Berwick; Rachel DelVecchio, Bethlehem; Rebecca Kestel, Abington; Donovan Krebs, Coal Township; Deanna Kremer, Northumberland; Emily Miller, Mercer; Grace Nugent, Blue Bell; Robert Pellechio, East Norriton; Anthony Roslevich, Hazleton; and Lauren Shover; Camp Hill.

The production is designed by theatre faculty members Ethan Krupp and Karen Anselm.
BU Players’ participation in the festival is sponsored by the BU Foundation, the College of Liberal Arts, Community Government Association and BU’s Division of Theatre and Dance.

Bloomsburg University is one of 14 universities in the Pennsylvania State System of Higher Education. BU serves approximately 10,000 students, offering comprehensive programs of study in the colleges of Education, Business, Liberal Arts and Science and Technology.