'New faces' at BU's Council of Trustees meeting

For immediate release: Sept. 2, 2009

BLOOMSBURG — Three new members joined Bloomsburg University of Pennsylvania's Council of Trustees for the Sept. 2 meeting, the first session of the 2009-2010 academic year.

BU President David Soltz introduced Trustees Nancy Vasta '97/'98M, Langhorne; Patrick W. Wilson '91, Williamsport; and Terrell Garrett '10, an interpersonal communications major from Philadelphia. Soltz also welcomed newcomers Ira Blake, interim provost, and Erik Evans, vice president for university advancement, and announced new positions for Jeff Long, interim vice president for student affairs; Elizabeth Mauch, interim dean of the College of Education; and Julie Kontos, interim dean of the College of Liberal Arts.

During the meeting, the Trustees approved their annual contributions to the Bloomsburg Fire Department — $38,000 to the department and $25,000 toward the purchase of a ladder truck.

The Trustees also:

  • Approved the continuation of the Husky Research Corp., an affiliated organization that administers some grants and contracts, as required by the Pennsylvania State System of Higher Education's Board of Governors.
  • Approved non-instructional emeritus status for retirees Duy McBride of University Safety and Police and Sharon Swank of the College of Education. They also recognized faculty emeritus Steven Cohen, who retired after teaching psychology at BU for 36 years.
  • Learned that BU started the year with 2,550 new students, 256 more than last fall. A total of 3,801 students are living on campus and 407 reside in Honeysuckle Apartments.
  • Heard during a report by Erik Evans, vice president for university advancement, that BU received $3.3 million in donations during 2008-09, including $1.1 million from an estate. BU awarded $742,269 in scholarships, he said.

Bloomsburg University is one of 14 universities in the Pennsylvania State System of Higher Education. The university serves approximately 8,000 students, offering comprehensive programs of study in the colleges of Education, Business, Liberal Arts and Science and Technology.