BU to welcome new Trustees

For immediate release: Aug. 4, 2009

BLOOMSBURG — Three new members will join Bloomsburg University of Pennsylvania's Council of Trustees for the Sept. 2 quarterly meeting after being nominated by Gov. Ed Rendell and confirmed by the state Senate. Nancy Vasta

Nancy Vasta '97/'98M, Langhorne, fills the unexpired term of Robert Gibble '68, who joined the Trustees in 1999 and served as chair from 2006 to 2008. She is product development manager with CIGNA, Philadelphia, where she has worked since 1999. She also is a member of BU’s College of Business Advisory Board and former member of the Corporate Advisory Council. Patrick Wilson

Patrick W. Wilson '91, Williamsport, fills the unexpired term of A. William Kelly '71, who became a Trustee in 1995 and served as chair from 2002 to 2006. Vice president of operations for Little League International, Baseball and Softball, Wilson joined the organization in 1993. His affiliations include the Williamsport/Lycoming Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors, Leadership Lycoming Board of Directors and United Way of Lycoming County loan executive. Terrell Garrett

Terrell Garrett '10, an interpersonal communications major from Philadelphia, is the new student Trustee, replacing Nicole Najpauer who graduated in May. Former vice president of the Black Cultural Society and executive board member of the Frederick Douglass Learning Institute, Garrett has been a student director and founder of the mentorship program, Men of Intelligence, Notability and Desire.

Three current Trustees also were reappointed recently. They are: Steven B. Barth, Lewisburg, chair; Robert N. Dampman ’65, Ringtown, vice chair; and LaRoy G. Davis ’67, Feasterville. More on the Trustees ...

Bloomsburg University is one of 14 universities in the Pennsylvania State System of Higher Education. The university serves approximately 8,000 students, offering comprehensive programs of study in the colleges of Professional Studies, Business, Liberal Arts and Science and Technology.