BU dean receives Minority Achievement Award

For immediate release: Nov. 4, 2008

BLOOMSBURG — The dean of the College of Professional Studies at Bloomsburg University of Pennsylvania, Dianne Mark, was one of the recipients of Minority Opinion Magazine’s Minority Achievement Award. She was honored with the award at the 34th annual Minority Achiever’s Luncheon sponsored by the magazine and held last month in Pittsburgh.

The award is given each year to show recognition and appreciation to minorities who have made exceptional contributions in their profession.

“Our goal in sponsoring these awards is to give recognition and show appreciation to minorities who have made outstanding contributions in their professions. By saluting these people, it is our hope that their accomplishments may serve to inspire others. We also use this opportunity to commend their employers for their commitment to diversity, inclusion and the upward mobility of minority employees,” said Luther Sowell Jr., publisher of the magazine.

Mark, who came to BU in March 2007, previously served as associate dean of the College of Education and Human Services at Central Michigan University. She earned her bachelor’s degree from Michigan State University and her master’s degree from Buffalo State College, as well as another master’s and doctoral degrees from SUNY-Buffalo. Mark completed a certificate program in management from the Harvard Institutes for Higher Education.

She has authored and co-authored articles on issues related to students of color and urban education, including the book, “Cultural Journey: Multicultural Literature for Children and Young Adults.” Considered an expert on the ways parents can help their children with homework, Mark was one of 13 female participants in the American Council of Education’s National Leadership Forum in 2004.

Bloomsburg University is one of 14 universities in the Pennsylvania State System of Higher Education. The university serves approximately 8,000 students, offering comprehensive programs of study in the colleges of Professional Studies, Business, Liberal Arts and Science and Technology.