Bloomsburg University hosts Constitution Day 2008

For immediate release: Sept. 9, 2008

BLOOMSBURG — Bloomsburg University of Pennsylvania is hosting Constitution Day Thursday, Sept. 18, in order to promote “Virtuous Citizenship.” The event will begin at 9:30 a.m. at the amphitheatre outside the Scranton Commons, with a rain location of the Kehr Union Ballroom. The event welcomes BU students and is open to the public.

Constitution Day is a national event designed to discuss the constitutional issues facing the nation today. BU has hosted Constitution Day events since 2004 when it became a national observance. BU’s Democracy Matters adviser Dr. Nancy Gentile Ford said, “The goal of Constitution Day every year is to address the legacy of the document’s 39 signers who changed the course of history and develop habits of citizenship in a new generation of Americans.

“This year, since it is an important national election year, we are focusing on the responsibility of citizens to pay attention to their government and to vote,” she said.

The event will commence with an introduction by Emily Kinkead, campus coordinator of Democracy Matters, and will continue with speeches by BU President David Soltz, state Rep. David Millard, Nancy Schott, who is running for state representative from the 109th district, and others. The program will close with the University Democrats and the Campus Republicans discussing key constitutional issues that currently face the nation.

Some of the topics include “The Importance of Being Politically Active,” “Obama for President,” “McCain for President,” “Your Duty as a Citizen” and “Why be Politically Aware?” The program will also introduce the candidates and incumbents seeking political office this fall.

The program is sponsored by BU’s Democracy Matters and the Civic Engagement Living and Learning Community.

Bloomsburg University is one of 14 universities in the Pennsylvania State System of Higher Education. The university serves approximately 8,000 students, offering comprehensive programs of study in the colleges of Professional Studies, Business, Liberal Arts and Science and Technology.