Bloomsburg University students to earn bachelor’s and master’s degrees this December

For immediate release: Dec. 04, 2007

BLOOMSBURG — More than 500 students will receive bachelor’s and master’s degrees from Bloomsburg University of Pennsylvania on Friday and Saturday, Dec. 14 and 15, during the university’s winter commencement ceremonies.

Graduate commencement will occur on Friday, Dec. 14, at 6 p.m. in Haas Center for the Arts, Mitrani Hall, with BU President Jessica Kozloff as the featured speaker. Master’s degrees will be awarded to 93 students.

Two undergraduate commencement ceremonies will be held Saturday, Dec. 15, also in Mitrani Hall. Commencement for students in the College of Liberal Arts and the College of Science and Technology will take place at 10 a.m., with commencement for students in the College of Professional Studies and the College of Business set for 2:30 p.m. Bachelor’s degrees will be granted to 421 students.

President Kozloff will deliver the commencement speeches at both undergraduate ceremonies, in addition to speaking at the graduate commencement. The winter commencement marks Kozloff’s last official duty before her retirement. She has served as the president of Bloomsburg University since July 1994 and will retire at the end of December.

Also during the undergraduate ceremonies, the top honor graduates from each college will be recognized. They are: Annette O. Conigliaro, an English/secondary education major from New Milford, College of Liberal Arts and College of Professional Studies; Liesl Lewis, an elementary education major from Danville, College of Professional Studies; Jon Zeisler, an electronics engineering technology major from Nescopeck, College of Science and Technology; and Dana Corbin, a business administration and finance major from Danville, College of Business.

Bloomsburg University is one of 14 universities in the Pennsylvania State System of Higher Education. The university serves approximately 8,000 students, offering comprehensive programs of study in the colleges of Professional Studies, Business, Liberal Arts and Science and Technology.