Kozloffs to marshal BU’s homecoming parade

For immediate release: Oct. 17, 2007

BLOOMSBURG — Bloomsburg University of Pennsylvania will celebrate homecoming weekend from Friday through Sunday, Oct. 19 to 21.

The annual combined homecoming parade for BU and the Bloomsburg High School will begin at 10 a.m. at the Bloomsburg Hospital parking lot along Lightstreet Road. This year, the parade course has returned to a route used in years past, with the parade turning from Lightstreet Road onto Penn Street and then following College Hill to Main Street and Market Street, ending at Town Park.
The parade will feature BU President Jessica Kozloff and Dr. Steve Kozloff as grand marshals. After 13 1/2 years as BU president, Jessica Kozloff will retire in December.

In addition to the homecoming courts of BU and Bloomsburg High School, the parade will include nine BU floats and four high school floats. Twelve BU student organizations will march along with the BU and Alumni Marching Band, the Bloomsburg High School Band and the Central Columbia High School Band. The Irem Temple Motorcorps will participate, along with several community groups.
BU’s homecoming football game will be played against Millersville University Saturday at 1:30 p.m. in Redman Stadium. The homecoming royalty will be crowned at halftime and winners of the float, non-float, banner and residence hall window painting competitions will be announced.

Tickets for the football game are $8 for adults and $3 for students and senior citizens. BU students with a valid ID get in free. The gates will open two hours before kickoff.

Homecoming weekend will conclude with the Homecoming Pops Concert on Sunday at 2:30 p.m. in Mitrani Hall, Haas Center for the Arts. The Husky Singers and Women’s Choral Ensemble will be featured. Admission is free and open to the public.

Bloomsburg University is one of 14 universities in the Pennsylvania State System of Higher Education. The university serves approximately 8,000 students, offering comprehensive programs of study in the colleges of Professional Studies, Business, Liberal Arts and Science and Technology.