Bloomsburg University, Lehigh Carbon Community College forge agreements

For immediate release: August 2, 2007

BLOOMSBURG — Officials from Bloomsburg University of Pennsylvania and Lehigh Carbon Community College formalized two agreements on Thursday, Aug. 2, that are designed to ease students’ transition from LCCC associate’s degrees to BU bachelor’s degrees.

Jessica Kozloff, BU’s president, and Donald Snyder, Lehigh Carbon Community College’s president, signed the elementary education completion program and dual-admissions agreements at the community college’s Morgan Center in Tamaqua.

The completion program agreement allows BU to offer upper-level elementary education courses at Lehigh Carbon Community College’s Morgan Center. Students who receive an associate’s degree in education at the community college will be able to earn a BU bachelor’s degree at the Morgan Center campus, where BU faculty will teach all courses needed to complete the junior and senior
years in elementary education.

Also signed was a dual-admissions agreement that simplifies the transfer process for students who begin their college studies at any Lehigh Carbon Community College campus with plans to complete their coursework at BU, said James Matta, BU’s assistant vice president and dean of graduate studies and research.

The program works like this: When a student registers for the dual-admissions program at Lehigh Carbon Community College, he or she is guaranteed admission to the parallel major at BU after earning an associate’s degree and completing other course requirements. Sixty credits will transfer from the community college to BU, and the BU application fee will be waived. In programs available for the dual-admissions agreement, a student who follows an established sequence of courses with acceptable grades should be able to earn a bachelor’s degree in four years.

Bloomsburg University is one of 14 universities in the Pennsylvania State System of Higher Education. The university serves approximately 8,000 students, offering comprehensive programs of study in the colleges of Professional Studies, Business, Liberal Arts and Science and Technology.