Fifty-six students receive Smith Scholarships

For Immediate Release

Date: June 27, 2005

Note: Scholarship recipients are listed below by high school, hometown and Bloomsburg University class.

BLOOMSBURG–Fifty-six students who graduated from five area high schools have been awarded scholarships from the Fred G. Smith Golden Rule Trust Fund to attend Bloomsburg University of Pennsylvania in the 2005-06 academic year. The list of recipients of the $162,000 in scholarships was released by Thomas M. Lyons, the university’s director of financial aid.

Smith, who owned and managed Nesbitt’s Cut Rate Drug Store in Shenandoah and Mount Carmel, bequeathed $3 million for scholarships to the university in 1985. A resident of Shenandoah, his intention was to help students from his community and the surrounding area attend college. The scholarships have been awarded over the past 14 years to nearly 1,000 area students. The fund is administered by Union National Bank of Mount Carmel.

Smith’s will stipulates that the recipients of the scholarship, established in memory of his wife Marion, attend Bloomsburg University and be residents of Ashland, Mount Carmel or Shenandoah boroughs or Mount Carmel Township. Students also must be graduates of Cardinal Brennan, Mount Carmel, North Schuylkill, Our Lady of Lourdes or Shenandoah Area high school.

Most of the awards are renewals, with 12 going to students who will attend BU for the first time this fall. Individual awards range from $500 to $4,000.

Recipients of the 2005-06 Fred G. Smith Golden Rule Trust Fund Award are:

Graduates of Cardinal Brennan High School, Jaclyn M. Fowler, principal

Ashland residents Kelly Joyce, freshman; Tyler Geist and Brian Kowalick, juniors; and Matthew Bonner, senior.

Graduates of Mount Carmel High School, Mary E. John, principal

- Atlas residents Benjamin Gerrity, freshman, and Tonya Kehler, sophomore.

- Mount Carmel residents Shadi Aboumar, Nicole Frank, Ashley Friedman, John Janolek, Shauna Kwiatkowski, Megan McAndrew, Krista Petruskevich, Ronald Weaver and Crystal Zelinski, all freshmen; Alessa Dalpiaz, James F. D'Amico, Jessica Flowers, Jennifer Halcovich, Amy Hampton, Megan Kornacki, Jonathan Novack, Sean Paul, Stephen Polchin, Amy Savitski and Kelly Tarlecki, all sophomores; Erica Kitt, Jared Owens and Kyle Strocko, all juniors; and Christine Chesney, Laura Duceman, Krista Korzeniecki, Danielle Minnig, Stacy Ramph and Dustin Smith, all seniors.

- Kulpmont residents Kelly Bressi, freshman; Ashley O’Gara, sophomore; Jennie Toter, junior; and Alison Wascavage, senior.

- Locust Gap residents Vanessa Bucher, freshman, and Nicole Valania, junior.

- Natalie resident Rebecca Hertzog, freshman.

Graduates of North Schuylkill High School, Sharon Snyder, principal

Ashland residents Tiffany Schoffler, Jenna Wallauer and Sloane Wetzel, all sophomores; Megan Coyne and Jesse Derr, juniors; Jessica Fickinger, senior.

Graduates of Our Lady of Lourdes Regional High School, John McKay, principal

Mount Carmel residents Thalia Catino and Carl Ecker, both sophomores.      

Graduates of Shenandoah Valley High School, Phillip Andres, principal

Shenandoah residents Melanie Fowler and Robert Piekarski, freshmen; David Mozdy, Lee Winebrenner and Danielle Wychulis, all sophomores; and Dane Rooney, junior.

Bloomsburg University is one of 14 universities in the Pennsylvania State System of Higher Education. The university serves approximately 8,000 students and offers 65 bachelor’s, 18 master’s and one doctoral degree.