March 4, 2007

Mike Spaid Repeats as EWL Champion


CLEVELAND, OH -- Bloomsburg University heavyweight Mike Spaid (Upper Perkiomen/Boyertown) won his second straight Eastern Wrestling League title on Sunday downing A.J. Brooks of Clarion in the finals. As a team, the Huskies finished fifth with 94.50 points.

The Huskies sent four wrestlers to the finals, but came away with just one champion in Spaid.

At heavyweight, Spaid opened the match with a first period takedown. After Brooks had a reversal to tie the score at 2-2, Spaid escaped to take a 3-2 lead at the end of the first period. Spaid took down to open the second period and promptly escaped for a 4-2 lead, the only scoring of the period. In the third period, Brooks started down and escaped to make it a 4-3 score. That would be the only scoring of the period as Spaid earned a point for riding time to win 5-3 and earn his second straight EWL title. He also becomes just the seventh wrestler in school history to win back to back EWL crowns.

At 125 pounds, Mike Sees fell in the finals to Obe Blanc of Lock Haven by a 4-2 score. The match was tied at 2-2 after two periods when Blanc, who took down to start the period, escaped for a 3-2 edge. Sees went in for a leg takedown late in the period, but could not bring down Blanc and ended finishing second for the second consecutive season.

In the 141 pound bracket, the Huskies Darren Kern lost to Brandon Rader of West Virginia by a 16-5 score. Rader controlled the match from the start and recorded six takedowns during the match.

Nate Shirk at 184 pounds faced Alex Clemsen of Edinboro for the title and lost 4-1.Shirk led 1-0 before Clemsen picked up an escape of his own along with a takedown and riding time for the victory.

In addition to the four wrestling for EWL titles, Ricky Donald finished third by picking up two wins on Sunday. Donald beat Sal Lascari of Clarion, 8-0, in the consolation semi-finals and David Armstrong of Cleveland State, 1-0, in the consolation finals.

At 149 pounds. Matt Moley finished fourth, losing 3-1, in sudden victory overtime to Ryan Hurley of Cleveland State in the consolation final. Also taking fourth was Ricky Schmelyun at 165 pounds, while Dennis Bermudez at 157 and Andrew Jordan at 174 both finished sixth.

All four finalists earned a berth in the NCAA Division I national championship tournament to be held in two weeks in Auburn Hills, Michigan.

NEW--Matt Moley and Ricky Donald have been named as two of the wild-card selections to the NCAA Division I championships from the EWL. Ricky Schmelyun was named as the first alternate.