August 11, 2008

BU Names 2008 Athletics Hall of Fame Class

BLOOMSBURG--The 27th Bloomsburg University Athletic Hall of Fame class will be inducted on Friday, October 10th. The induction of five graduates brings to 125 the number of members in the Bloomsburg Athletic Hall of Fame.

This year's Hall of Fame inductees are Jim Garman '59; Roly Lamy '91; Keith Torok '79; Tim Pritchard '90 and Sharon Reilly Zemaitis '90.

Garman was Bloomsburg's first-ever Pennsylvania State conference wrestling champion in 1957 and went on to become the first three-time champ. As a senior he went on to earn a trip to the NCAA wrestling championships, part of a group of four wrestlers to be the first Huskies' to reach the prestigious meet. He posted an overall dual meet mark of 29-1 in his four years and helped the team to an overall mark of 25-9 in that time.

Lamy was a three-time All-American for the men's tennis team. He won four PSAC singles titles and two PSAC doubles titles. He was ranked 33rd in the country in 1988 and 1989, 17th in the 1990 season and sixth in 1991. He was also ranked second in the country in doubles in both 1988 and 1989, then sixth in 1990 and eighth in 1991. He was also winner of the 1990 Eastern Rolex Small College championship and posted a career record of 133-42 and holds the school record for most singles wins in a career.

Torok was a three-time All-American for the Huskies in men's swimming. He earned All-American honors in the 200 free in 1977 and was part of the 400-free relay team that earned All-American in 1975 and 1978. He was an NCAA-qualifier all four years in a total of 11 events. Torok was also a three-time PSAC runner-up in both the 200 free and the 400-relay and had a total of 15 top-six finishes in his career. He set Bloomsburg records in six individual events and three relay events, one of which stood for 28 years before being surpassed in 2006.

Pritchard played first base and caught for the Huskies baseball team. He holds the career school records for batting average (.443) and triples (16). Pritchard also holds the single season records for batting average, hitting .479 in 1990, and triples, with 10 in 1990. He was a three-time All-PSAC East selection, a two-time ECAC Division II All-Star and was named first team North Atlantic All-Region team in 1990. A two-time captain, Pritchard helped lead the Huskies to the team's first PSAC playoff appearance in 1990.

Reilly Zemaitis was a two-time All-American in field hockey for the Huskies. She helped Bloomsburg to a four-year record of 82-9-4, two PSAC championships and one NCAA title. She finished her career second in career goals with 48 (now 4th) and second in career points with 108 (now 6th). As a junior Reilly scored a team-high 18 goals, while as a senior she finished second in goals scored with 12 while adding three assists.

The Hall of Fame dinner will be held Friday, October 10 in Monty's on the upper campus. Call the Bloomsburg University sports information office at 570-389-4413 for ticket information.

Anyone wishing to nominate someone for the Bloomsburg University Athletic Hall of FFame should contact Sports Information Director Tom McGuire.