Bloomsburg University Field Hockey Hall of Fame Members

Daneen (Fero) Zaleski '89-Inducted 2004

Zaleski was midfielder for four seasons at Bloomsburg. For her career, she scored 19 goals and 15 assists for a total of 53 points. She was All-American and Division II National Player of the Year in 1988. She also received the Joanne McComb Award/Outstanding Underclassman Female Athlete in the 1988-89 season. She is only one for six players to win National Player of the Year honors in the school's history. She was part of the 1987 Division II National Championship team as well as the 1987 and 1988 PSAC Championship team.

Donna Graupp '87-Inducted 2007

Graupp played both field hockey and softball for the Huskies. As a two- year member of the field hockey team, Graupp was a two-time All-American and two-time All-PSAC selection while playing for the Huskies. She helped the Huskies to a two-year mark of 38-5-2 and one NCAA runner-up and one NCAA third-place finish. She totaled 28 goals in her career and had three assists.

Karen Hertzler '86-Inducted 2000

Hertzler was a two-sport standout, excelling in both field hockey and softball. In field hockey, she was a two-time All-American, earning National Player of the Year honors in 1985. She finished her career with 50 goals and 16 assists. She was named All-PSAC in 1985 and All-Region in 1982. She helped the Huskies to a four-year record of 70-9-2, two national titles, two PSAC titles, one second- and one third-place national finish. On the softball field, Hertzler was just as dominant, twice earning All-American along with All-PSAC honors once. For her career, she hit .345 with three home runs, 52 RBI, 127 runs scored, 34 stolen bases and 158 hits. She helped the team to four PSAC championships and a third-place finish at the NCAA national championships in 1986.

Donna Koons '79-Inducted 1991

A three-sport star for the Huskies, Koons was a four-year starter in field hockey and played on the basketball and softball teams. She was named All-Conference and All-Sectional in field hockey. Koons served as assistant coach on the Huskies' first national championship field hockey team.

Sharon Reilly Zemaitis '90-Inducted 2008

Reilly Zemaitis was a two-time All-American in field hockey for the Huskies. She helped Bloomsburg to a four-year record of 82-9-4, two PSAC championships and one NCAA title. She finished her career second in career goals with 48 (now 4th) and second in career points with 108 (now 6th). As a junior Reilly scored a team-high 18 goals, while as a senior she finished second in goals scored with 12 while adding three assists.

Gisela Smith '92-Inducted 2009

Smith was a standout defender on the Huskies' field hockey team, where she played midfielder. Smith, a native of Trinidad, was the MVP of Trinidad's national team and played in many international competitions. At Bloomsburg she was a two-time winner (1990 and 1991) of the Broderick Award as the field hockey National Player of the Year. In addition, she was a first team All-American in 1990 and 1991; the PSAC Field Hockey Athlete of the Year in 1991 and a four-time first team All-PSAC honoree. She was also on the NCAA All-Tournament team in 1988, 1990 and 1991.

Despite being a defender, she still scored 13 goals and had 14 assists during her four year career. During that time the Huskies won three PSAC championships and were three time NCAA runners-up. The team compiled a record of 84-8-2 over that period, and the defense allowed only 39 goals in those 94 games. Gisela also served as team captain her senior year in 1991. In 2006 Smith was named to the NCAA Division III 25th Anniversary Team.

In 1993 Smith was the leading goal scorer for the New York City Open Women's Field Hockey team and also helped lead New York City to their first and only Gold medal for the sport, in the history of the Empire State Games.

Deb Long Stoudt '84-Inducted 1996

Stoudt was a three-time All-American field hockey player for the Huskies and part of the 1981 national championship field hockey team and the 1982 national championship softball team. She scored the lone goal in both PSAC and national field hockey title games as a senior. In 1982, she made the East team at the U.S. Sports Festival in Indianapolis, ranking her among the nation's top 65 performers. In 1981, she was one of the youngest players to reach the Olympic tryout stage.

Carla Shearer (Christian) '88-Inducted 2003

Shearer was a two-sport standout for the Huskies playing both basketball and field hockey. On the hardwoods she finished her career 13th on Bloomsburg University's all-time scoring list with a total of 889 career points and was fifth all-time in assists with a career total of 334 and ninth all-time in steals with a career total of 184.

As a field hockey player, Shearer was a two-time All-American (1985-86) and helped the Huskies to two NCAA championships and two second place finishes. Her best season was 1986 when she netted 15 goals and added 15 assists. She finished her career with 27 goals and 29 assists. Her 29 assists were a school-record at the time (since surpassed).

Laurie Snyder '84-Inducted 2002

Snyder was a three-time All-American for the Huskies' field hockey team and a four-year letter-winner in softball. During her field hockey career, Snyder had 28 shutouts and led the Huskies to two national championships. She posted a 0.72 goals against average in 1981 to lead the Huskies to the AIAW national championship. She also posted 10 shutouts that season and added 12 in 1983 as the Huskies won their first NCAA title. She finished her career with 23 shutouts.

In softball, Snyder played for four years for the Huskies helping the team to an overall record of 114-21 and the first two PSAC championships ever held in 1983 and 1984. Snyder was also the Huskies starting first baseman on the 1982 AIAW national championship team, the first-ever national title won at Bloomsburg. As a freshman she led Bloomsburg in hitting with a .395 average.

Snyder was also a standout in the classroom and was selected as an Academic All-American by the College Sports Information Directors of America in 1983.