Bloomsburg Field Hockey
March 3, 2010

Bloomsburg Field Hockey Players Honored for Academics

BLOOMSBURG- Several members of the Bloomsburg University field hockey team have been named to the 2009 National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFHCA) Division II National Academic Squad.

The athletes that have been honored for Bloomsburg include seniors Chelsea Due (Pen Argyl/Pen Argyl), Kacy Friend (Nazareth, Pen Argyl), Caitlin Koczynski (Langhorne/Neshaminy), and Breanne Tobin (Perkasie/Pennridge); juniors Ashley Miller (Shermans Dale/West Perry), Julia Rush (Quakertown, Quakertown), and Aime Sgarlat (Dallas/Lake Lehman); sophomore Lindsay Danz (Rehoboth Beach, DE/Sussex Technical); and freshmen Amber Aulenbach (Fleetwood/Oley Valley), Lauren McGinley (Wilkes-Barre/Coughlin), and Kara Stahl (Mifflinburg/Mifflinburg).

In coach Jan Hutchinson's last season, the Huskies finished with a 22-1 overall record, 7-1 in the Pennsylvania State Athletic Conference (PSAC), and won their fourth consecutive NCAA Division II National Championship. This title was the 16th in school history and for Hutchinson.