Bloomsburg Men's Soccer
January 20, 2009

Jan Hutchinson Named D-II Coach of the Year

Jan Hutchison

BLOOMSBURG--Bloomsburg University head field hockey coach Jan Hutchinson has been named the 2008 DITA/National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFHCA) Division II Coach of the Year.

This past season Hutchinson guided the Huskies to the 2008 NCAA Division II national championship with a record of 23-1. The national title was the 15th for Hutchinson and the Huskies and the 10th in the last 13 years. Bloomsburg, which also won the PSAC championship in 2008, set an NCAA Division II record with 161 goals scored this year (6.7 per game), breaking the mark it set last year of 132. The Huskies also limited opponents to just 20 goals scored (0.83 per game) during the season.

Hutchinson also coached Jamie Vanartsdalen, NCAA Division II Player of the Year, who broke every school and conference scoring mark and all but one NCAA D-II career scoring mark. Vanartsdalen finished her brilliant career with an NCAA Division II record 120 goals, was second all-time in assists with 58 and scored a D-II record 298 total points. Her 120 goals are sixth best all-time in NCAA field hockey history regardless of Division, while her 298 points were fourth best all-time in NCAA history.

As the Huskies head coach Hutchinson a career record of 569-74-20. She is the all-time leader in field hockey history in career wins (and is the only coach over 500 career wins). Six athletes on this season's team achieved NFHCA All-American honors, bringing the total under Hutchinson to 53 performers who have combined to win 101 All-American awards. Also, 10 Bloomsburg players have also been named national "Player of the Year" a total of 12 times under Hutchinson's guidance, the most of any coach in Division II.

The National Coach of the Year honor is the sixth for Hutchinson. She previously won the award in 1991, 1998, 2002, 2004 and 2006.

In addition, Hutchinson is also coach of the Huskies highly successful softball team and has guided the team to a record of 1,130-269-2. Hutchinson's achievements in coaching have not gone unnoticed by her peers. She has been honored with induction into both the National Fastpitch Coaches Association and the National Field Hockey Coaches Association Halls of Fame. In addition, Hutchinson was named the winner of the C. Vivian Stringer Award by the United States Sports Academy in the summer of 2006.

Hutchinson's coaching talents have not only helped those as student-athletes, but several of her former players have gone on to coach at the intercollegiate level. At Bloomsburg, she has former All-American performers as top assistant coaches in both field hockey and softball. Others have gone on to coaching jobs elsewhere, such as Janelle Breneman (assistant softball coach at the University of North Carolina), Marci Hickey (head softball coach at the University of North Florida), Leah Conte (head field hockey coach at South County, VA, Secondary School), Kathy Frick (former head coach at Goucher College, Bloomsburg, and current head coach of Lafayette University lacrosse) and Nicole Hartranft Rhoads (head field hockey coach at Alvernia College).

Two former softball players have also played professionally. Janelle Breneman was a member of the Georgia Pride and Marty Laudato was a member of the Tampa Bay Fire Stix. In 1999 Laudato was named WPSL Hitter of the Year.

A 1971 graduate of East Stroudsburg University, Hutchinson also earned a master's degree in education from the school in 1979. Prior to Bloomsburg, she initiated the women's physical education program at Blair Academy and served as head coach for field hockey, basketball, and softball. She has also been inducted into the Newton High School, the Sussex County (NJ), and the Luzerne County (PA) Halls of Fame. In the year 2000, the Bloomsburg softball field was named in her honor.