Bloomsburg Field Hockey
February 29, 2008

Bloomsburg Field Hockey Players Honored for Academics

BLOOMSBURG- Several members of the Bloomsburg University field hockey team have been named to the 2007 ZAG/National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFHCA) Division II National Academic Squad.

Members of the Bloomsburg team that have been honored include senior Ashley Heckard (Millerstown/Greenwood), juniors Amy Gilbert (Duncannon/Susquentia), Kelsey Kress (Littlestown/Littlestown) and Jamie Vanartsdalen (Huntington Valley/Lower Moreland), sophomores Chelsea Due (Pen Argyl/Pen Argyl) and Caitlin Koczynski (Langhorne/Neshaminy), and freshman Erin McGinley (Kingston/Wyoming Seminary), Ashley Miller (Shermans Dale/West Perry), Julia Rush (Quakertown/Quakertown Community) and Aime Sgarlat (Dallas/Lake Lehman).

The Huskies finished the 2007 season with a 21-4 overall record, 11-3 in the Pennsylvania State Athletic Conference (PSAC), and captured their second consecutive NCAA Division II Field Hockey National Championship. The title was the 14th in school history, fifth in the last six years and ninth in the last 12 for the Bloomsburg program. Also, five members of the squad were named Division II All-Americans, while seven were All-PSAC selections for the 2007 season.