Bloomsburg Field Hockey
November 7, 2006

Seven Bloomsburg Players Named to All-PSAC Team

BLOOMSBURG-Seven Bloomsburg University field hockey players have been named to the 2006 All-Pennsylvania State Athletic Conference (PSAC) Team. Jamie Vanartsdalen (Huntingdon Valley/ Lower Moreland), Samantha Kropa (Tunkhannock/ Lackawanna Trail), Chelsea Due (Pen Argyl/ Pen Argyl), Maribeth Brozena (Larksville/ Wyoming Valley West), Tracey Hudak (Sweet Valley/ Lake-Lehman) and Venessa Witman (Oley/ Oley Valley), and were named to the first team, while Kelsy Kress (Littlestown/ Littlestown) was named to the second team. Due was also named PSAC Rookie of the Year, while head coach Jan Hutchinson was named Coach of the Year. The Huskies, who are a perfect 22-0 on the season, had the most representatives of any PSAC School.

Vanartsdalen, a sophomore forward, has been the Huskies main scoring threat throughout the season. Her 60 points (25 goals, 10 assists) leads all of Division II. She needs just four more points to break the school record for points in a season which was set by Denise Miller in 1991. In addition, Vanartsdalen was named PSAC Player of the Week three times during the season, the most of any player in the conference. This is the second straight season she has been named to the first-team.

Kropa, a sophomore forward, ranks third in the PSAC in scoring with 48 points (22 goals, four assists) which is also the sixth highest total in school history. Kropa, who was named second team All-PSAC in 2005, was named PSAC Player of the Week for the period ending October 16.

Due, the 2006 PSAC Rookie of the Year, has made an immediate impact on the PSAC. She has four goals and five assists, including two game-winning goals, while playing mid-field for the Huskies.

Senior Maribeth Brozena, who played both midfield and defense, was dominant on both sides of the ball. Brozena had seven goals and four assists on the season, including five game-winning goals. This is the second straight year she has been named to the All-PSAC First Team.

Hudak has been named to the All-PSAC First Team at goalie for the third straight year. Hudak started all 22 games in goal and led the PSAC in goals against average (0.92). She was named MVP of the PSAC Championships, allowing only two goals and stopping 13 shots. In the championship game, she made six saves to lead the Huskies to a 1-0 shutout over Shippensburg.

Witman, a sophomore defender, was named to the team for the second straight year. She ranked fourth on the team with 23 points (10 goals, three assists).

Kelsy Kress, sophomore defender, stepped in and became a force on defense for the Huskies. She helped lead a defense that ranked first in the PSAC in goals allowed (21) and scoring margin (3.48/ game).

The Huskies will be the top-ranked team in the South Region at the NCAA Championships to be held in Pensacola, Florida from November 16-18. They receive a bye in the first round and will play the winner of Shippensburg and Indiana (Pa) on November 17.

Jamie Vanartsdalen Maribeth Brozena Tracey Hudak Jamie Vanartsdalen
Jamie Vanartsdalen
1st team
Maribeth Brozena
1st team
Tracey Hudak
1st team
Venessa Witman
1st team
Samantha Kropa Chelsea Due Kelsy Kress Jan Hutchinson
Samantha Kropa
1st team
Chelsea Due
1st team & Rookie of the Year
Kelsy Kress
2nd team
Jan Hutchinson
Coach of the Year