June 6, 2007

Huskies Football Ranked Fifth by Lindy's in Pre-Season Poll

BLOOMSBURG-- The Bloomsburg University football is ranked fifth in the pre-season by Lindy's Football Annual magazine.

The Huskies are coming off a 12-2 season in which it won the NCAA Division II Northeast Regional title and advanced to the NCAA D-II national semi-finals.

Ranked number one in the pre-season poll is defending national champion Grand Valley State, while national runner-up Northwest Missouri State is second. Ranked third is Chadron State with North Dakota at number four with the Huskies fifth. The only other Pennsylvania State Athletic Conference team in the top 10 is Indiana (PA) at number 10. Fellow PSAC-East member West Chester is ranked 11th in the poll.

In 2007 Bloomsburg will return 12 starters to its lineup including senior tailback Jamar Brittingham (Levittown/Neshaminy), linebackacker Rob Biernat (Bristol/Conwell Egan), wide receiver Brahin Bilal (Philadelphia/Lincoln) and quarterback Dan Latorre (Elysburg/Southern Columbia).

Brittingham, one of the team's tri-captains, rushed for 1,003 yards and 12 touchdowns in an injury plagued 2006 season. He goes into the 2007 campaign needing just 781 yards rushing to become the school's all-time leader in that category.

Biernat, another of the team's tri-captains, led the team with 82 tackles a year ago, while also making two interceptions and breaking up four passes.

Bilal had a breakout season for Bloomsburg in 2006 and led the team with 54 receptions for 1183 yards. He also led the team in touchdowns with 14 and in points with 90. It was his 44-yard catch late in the game against Shepherd that set up the winning score in the Huskies 24-21 victory that sent them to the national semi-finals.

Latorre threw for 2,398 yards and finished fifth in the country in passing efficiency with a mark of 163.8. Overall, the sophomore-to-be completed 144 of 239 passes with 20 touchdowns and just 10 interceptions.

The Huskies will open the 2007 season on Saturday, Sept. 1 at home against CW Post with kickoff slated for noon.

1. Grand Valley
2. NW Missouri St.
3. Chadron St.
4. North Dakota
5. Bloomsburg
6. Neb.-Omaha
7. Delta St.
8. Valdosta St.
9. South Dakota
10. Indiana PA
11. West Chester
12. Midwestern St.
13. Bemidji St.
14. Shepherd
15. Pittsburg St.
16. North Alabama
17. Newberry
18. Ferris St.
19. West Texas A&m
20. Northwood
21. Arkansas Tech
22. Abilene Christian
23. Henderson St.
24. Tiffin
25. Elizabeth City St.