February 22, 2006

Bloomsburg Football Announces 2007 Captains, 2006 Awards

BLOOMSBURG-- Bloomsburg University head football coach Danny Hale has announced that linebacker Rob Biernat (Bristol/Conwell Egan), running back Jamar Brittingham (Levittown/Neshaminy), and defensive lineman Corey Gipe (Schuylkill Haven/Schuylkill Haven) will be captains for the 2007 football season as voted on by the team.

Biernat, a 6-2, 225 pound red shirt junior, was a first team All-PSAC and second team All-Region selection. He led the 2006 Huskies in tackles with 73, including 36 solo stops. He also had five tackles for loss, one sack and two pass interceptions, including one against West Chester in the second round of the NCAA playoffs.

Brittingham, a 6-0 203 pound junior, was a 2005 Harlon Hill Finalist. Plagued with injury last season he still managed 1,003 rush yards and 12 touchdowns in 10 games for the Huskies. He holds numerous school and conference records and needs five touchdowns to break the PSAC career records for rushing touchdowns and points scored.

Gipe, 6-2 284 pound red shirt junior, was a key member of the 2006 Bloomsburg defensive unit. He had 28 tackles on the year, the majority of which were solo stops. He also had four tackles for a loss including one and a half sacks and recovered a fumble against Shippensburg.

In addition to naming the 2007 captains, several 2006 awards were announced at the team's end of the year banquet. Christian Boyer (Bethlehem/Saucon Valley) was presented the JSD Big Hit/Hammer Award while Wynton Shelton (Media/Penncrest) and Josh Heck (Hazleton/Hazleton) earned the team's Ron Morgan Un-Sung Hero Awards. Winning the Dr. Lou Mingrone Special Teams Award was kicker Jon Koenig (Pine Grove/Pine Grove).

The Frank Sheptock Defensive MVP was given to Tyler Trettin (Hummelstown/Hershey) and the Robert Tucker Offensive MVP was awarded to Brahin Bilal (Philadelphia/Lincoln). Service Player of the Year Awards were also given to Alex Landis (Pine Grove/Pine Grove) on the offense and Ian Carpenter (Lansdale/North Penn) and Dave Huot (Bethlehem/Freedom) from the defense.

The Bloomsburg Huskies will open the 2007 season on September 1st hosting C.W. Post at 12:00 p.m.

Dan Latorre Josh Heck Luke Kuklick
Rob Biernat
Jamar Brittingham
Corey Gipe