Jan Hutchison

A true NCAA coaching legend, Jan Hutchinson is in her 32nd season as a coach at Bloomsburg University in 2009. As head field hockey coach she is charge of a program that has won 15 national championships and 16 conference titles in the past 28 years, while as softball coach she is the NCAA Division II all-time leader in career wins and has made an NCAA-record 27 consecutive trips to the Division II championships. She also is the winningest college coach in any division with 1,734 combined wins between field hockey and softball.


While at Bloomsburg, Hutchinson's field hockey squads have posted winning records in 30 of her 31 seasons and have amassed an overall record of 569-74-20, for a winning percentage of .872. She is the winningest coach in NCAA field hockey history and is the only coach with over 500 victories.

Under Hutchinson, the Huskies have enjoyed many outstanding seasons and have won 16 or more games on 25 occasions. Her teams won national championships in 1981, 1983, 1984, 1987, 1993, 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2006, 2007 and most recently in 2008. Her string of four straight titles (1996-99) was the first time in the history of NCAA field hockey that the feat was accomplished. Her teams have also registered nine national runner-up finishes.

In addition, the Huskies captured Pennsylvania State Athletic Conference (PSAC) championships in 1983, 1984, 1987, 1988, 1990, 1991, 1992, 1993, 1997, 1999, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2006 and 2008 and have garnered eight runner-up showings.

Hutchinson has been chosen as the national Division II Coach of the Year six times in her career, 1991, 1998, 2002, 2004, 2006 and 2008. Her 2006 team went undefeated and untied on its way to the NCAA D-II championship, the fourth time in school history for that to happen.

Her 2008 team set numerous school, conference and NCAA Division II marks, including a record for goals scored in a season with 161, shattering the mark of 132 set by the Huskies in 2007. She also coached Jamie Vanartsdalen, the NCAA all-time record holder for goals and points in a season and career.

Six athletes on the 2008 team achieved NFHCA All-American honors, bringing the total under Hutchinson to 52 performers who have combined to win 101 All-American awards. Under Hutchinson's leadership, 10 Bloomsburg players, including Vanartsdalen in 2007 and 2008, have also been named national "Player of the Year", the most of any coach in Division II.


One of the most successful coaches ever in Division II softball history, Jan Hutchinson recently completed her 32nd season with the Huskies.

During her career as coach of the Huskies, Hutchinson has posted a record of 1,165-280-2 (.805) and has made an NCAA record 27 consecutive trips to the NCAA championship tournament (230 including AIAW and NCAA Division III). She has the most wins of any NCAA Division II coach in history and is sixth on the all-time win list regardless of division. She is also second on the NCAA Division list and seventh overall for highest winning percentage.

Bloomsburg has been to the championship round nine times, twice finishing as the national runner-up with losses each time in extra innings in the national title game. She also has six third-place showings and two fourth-place finishes. The Huskies also won the 1982 AIAW national championship.

In softball, Bloomsburg holds 16 NCAA Division II individual, team or championship records. In only her fourth season, Hutchinson won the national championship "double" in the 1981-82 school year, claiming the field hockey title in the fall and the softball championship that spring.

Bloomsburg has dominated Pennsylvania State Athletic Conference competition winning 14 softball championships. In addition, her players have enjoyed recognition in softball with 32 players earning 53 All-American awards.


Hutchinson's achievements in coaching have not gone unnoticed by her peers. She has been honored with induction into both the National Fastpitch Coaches Association and the National Field Hockey Coaches Association Halls of Fame. In addition, Hutchinson was named the winner of the C. Vivian Stringer Award by the United States Sports Academy in the summer of 2006.

Hutchinson's coaching talents have not only helped those as student-athletes, but several of her former players have gone on to coach at the intercollegiate level. At Bloomsburg, she has former All-American performers as her top assistant coaches in softball.

Others have gone on to coaching jobs elsewhere, such as Janelle Breneman (assistant softball coach at the University of North Carolina), Marci Hickey (head softball coach at the University of Vermont), Leah Conte (former assistant field hockey and lacrosse coach at Mary Washington College) and Kathy Frick (former head coach at Goucher College, Bloomsburg and current head coach of Lafayette University lacrosse.)

Two former softball players have also played professionally. Janelle Breneman was a member of the Georgia Pride and Marty Laudato was a member of the Tampa Bay Fire Stix. In 1999 Laudato was named WPSL Hitter of the Year.

A 1971 graduate of East Stroudsburg University, Hutchinson also earned a master's degree in education from the school in 1979. Prior to Bloomsburg, she initiated the women's physical education program at Blair Academy and served as head coach for field hockey, basketball and softball. She has also been inducted into the Newton High School and Sussex County (NJ) Halls of Fame. In the year 2000, the Bloomsburg softball field was named in her honor.


Softball Year by Year

1978 4-7
1979 6-11
1980 17-8
1981 23-9
1982 28-4 Division III Champs
1983 33-4* East Regional Second
1984 30-4* East Regional Second
1985 35-6* East Regional Second
1986 42-5* Division II Third
1987 35-11* East Regional Second
1988 36-7* East Regional Second
1989 43-6* East Regional Fourth
1990 46-7* Division II Third
1991 43-7 Division II Second
1992 43-5* Division II Third
1993 38-6* Division II Fourth
1994 42-9* East Regional Second
1995 53-6* Division II Second
1996 36-12 East Regional Second
1997 44-7 East Regional Fourth
1998 39-9 East Regional Second
1999 42-10 East Regional Second
2000 49-12-1 Division II Third (Tie)
2001 44-7* Division II Fourth
2002 44-8* Division II Third
2003 36-13 East Regional Third
2004 28-16-1 East Regional Third
2005 45-10 Division II Fifth (Tie)
2006 38-17 East Regional Second
2007 38-15 East Regional Second
2008 51-11 East Regional Second
2009 35-11 East Regional

*PSAC Champions

Field Hockey Year by Year

1978 10-3-1
1979 4-4-4
1980 8-5-3
1981 19-4-2 AIAW: Champions
1982 16-5-1 Division II: Runner-up
1983 16-2-1 Division II: Champions
1984 19-0-0 Division III: Champions
1985 19-2-0 Division III: Third
1986 19-3-2 Division III: Runner-up
1987 24-1-0 Division III: Champions
1988 22-2-1 Division III: Runner-up
1989 17-3-1 Division III: Quarterfinals
1990 23-1-0 Division III: Runner-up
1991 22-2-0 Division III: Runner-up
1992 15-4-1 Division II: Runner-up
1993 21-0-1 Division II: Champions
1994 16-3-2 Division II: Runner-up
1995 19-3-0 Division II: Runner-up
1996 19-2-0 Division II: Champions
1997 20-3-0 Division II: Champions
1998 21-1-0 Division II: Champions
1999 19-0-0 Division II: Champions
2000 16-3-0 PSAC: Third
2001 14-3-0 PSAC: Fourth
2002 21-0-0 Division II: Champions
2003 22-2-0 Division II: Champions
2004 21-3-0 Division II: Champions
2005 19-5-0 Division II: Runner-Up
2006 24-0-0 Division II: Champions
2007 21-4-0 Division II: Champions
2008 23-1 Division II: Champions
Totals 569-74-20